Sage City Directory

The Sage Record

Lyndie Blevins blogging from Sage-Texas where you can expect greater things to come

Book Review - The Voyage of the “Dawn Treader”

Book Title            The Voyage of the “Dawn Treader”   

Book Author     C. S. Lewis  

Pub. Year            1952

Genre    Fantasy

My Rating           5 Stars

Ease of Read           Very easy with great meaning 


I was attracted to this book because… Unfortunately, The Chronicles of Narnia didn’t make it to my local library when I was a child. I didn’t get to read them until I was in my late twenties. I’ve embarked on experiencing Narnia once again. This time, I read The Magician’s Nephew before The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian and The Voyage of The “Dawn Treader”. I went into this book with the fresh knowledge of how Narnia was created and some key information that allow pieces of the puzzle to come together from the beginning. 


This book was about  Lucy and Edmond have their last adventure in Narnia. They are joined by their irritating cousin, Eustace, who ends up on the journey of his life. This story is pure adventure. Narnia is experiencing peace so Prince Caspian and his troop set out on the “Dawn Treader” on a journey to find Aslan’s land and perhaps the End of World. To find their way, they have to resolve riddles and problems which resolve many hidden aspects of Narnia history. Along the way, reluctant Eustace had a life-changing encounter with a dragon. Aslan reminds them all his is a bridge builder between worlds. 


Things I liked about this book Even in times of peace, our adventures are full of mysteries and strife, but they make our life richer.

That and the reminder that God is watching and never far. 

Why you should read this book Perhaps, you have ended up in a time in your life, when you too, though God was absent and know where to be found. The story is a great reminder of what it means to have faith and the security in remembering God is never far. 


This book lived up to the back cover copy "Here is your passport to a most extraordinary excursion into magical lands and enchanted happenings. If you’ve never been to Narnia, you can enter it for the first time with any of the books below…but once you start, you’ll want to read every one.” And from my experience you will want to return many times. 

This is the order of reading, that those who have studied the Chronicles recommend you read them in. This order has increased my enjoyment and understanding. 

  1. The Magician’s Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian
  5. The Voyage of the “Dawn Treader”
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle


Contact the author

Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

Book Review - The Silver Chair
Adventures of My COVID-19 Rabbit Episode 124

Where We Are Located

Lyndie Blevins

P.O. Box 381029
Duncanville, Tx 75138